New Governors Appointed

Effective immediately, the Provincial government has appointed Ms. Beverlee Park and Mr. Michael Korenberg to fill the vacancies left by Ms. Brigit Bennett and Dr. Kenneth Fung.

The UBC Board experiences constant renewal through limits on the terms that individual governors may serve, and the University has benefited from broad representation, diverse views, experience, and opinions over the past 100 years.  Such is the case with the current Board: a number of terms have come to an end, and the Board has undergone a renewal process with the appointment of five new Governors: Sandra Cawley, Beverly Park, Michael Korenberg, Kevin Smith, and myself.

I am very pleased to welcome all the newly appointed members and am very confident that their skills, and experience will contribute significantly to the Board’s role of keeping UBC on an upward trajectory.

Beverlee F. Park, FCPA, FCA, MBA

Bev Park is a senior executive with management and board experience in the following industry sectors: forest products, shipping, mining, transportation, real estate, and electricity generation/transmission.  Having provided strong leadership at the Board, CEO, COO and CFO level in publicly-traded, private and Crown corporations, Bev has a breadth of experience in an array of operating environments and domestic and offshore markets with specific experience leading shareholder value creation, long term strategic repositioning, operational excellence, risk management, regulatory issues, restructuring and acquisitions/divestitures.

Bev sits on several boards, including TransAlta Corporation, Teekay LNG Partners (Chair, Audit Committee), Silver Standard Resources Inc and InTransit BC.  From 2003 – 2010 Bev was a Board member of BC Transmission Corp (Chair, Audit Committee).  Prior to taking on these Board roles, Bev spent seventeen years of her career with TimberWest Forest Corp where she was most recently COO.

Over the past 25 years, Bev has served on seven community and association Boards, chairing two of those Boards and chairing three Audit and Finance Committees as well as having served on the Premier’s Roundtable on Forestry.

Bev holds a B.Comm with distinction from McGill University, an MBA from the Simon Fraser University Executive program and is a Chartered Accountant.  In 2011, Bev was elected a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of BC.

Bev has been recognized in the wider business community as one of Canada’s Top 100 Most Powerful Women in 2010; she also received the Excellence in the Private Sector Award from the Association of Women in Finance in 2011.

Michael Korenberg, B.A., J.D.

Michael is Chair of the boards of directors of Canfor Corporation and Canfor Pulp Products Inc. Currently, Michael also serves as a director of Westshore Terminals Investment Corporation, a member of the Law Societies of Upper Canada (Ontario) and British Columbia, a member of the Dean’s Advisory Committee for the Centre for Business Law at UBC and is Chair & Managing Director of Wreath Group, a private investment and consulting company.

In addition to his role as Chair of Canfor Corporation’s Capital Expenditure Committee, Michael is a member of Canfor’s Corporate Governance Committee and the Audit Committees of Canfor, Canfor Pulp and Westshore.

Until December 31, 2015, Michael was the Deputy Chair & Managing Director of The Jim Pattison Group, and remains a director of that company.

Michael has strong academic affiliation with various institutions from across Canada, and has served as follows:

1990-2014 Adjunct Professor of Law – The University of British Columbia
1988-1989 Sessional Lecturer – Queen’s University Law School
1988-2014 Speaker/Lecturer, C.L.E., Insight and Business Seminars (including Major Business Agreements)

Michael received his Juris Doctor (formerly LL.B.) from Osgoode Hall Law School, Toronto, Ontario and Bachelor of Arts (with distinction) from Carleton University, Ottawa, Ontario.

Stuart Belkin, Chair
UBC Board of Governors