Board of Governors

Members of the UBC Board of Governors represent a diversity of backgrounds and bring to the Board the views of their various constituencies; decisions are ultimately made in the best overall interest of the University.

As per the University Act Part 6 – Board of Governors, the 21-member Board is comprised of:

The Board is responsible for the management, administration and control of the property, revenue, business and affairs of the University, including the appointment of senior officials and faculty (on the recommendation of the President), and for the appointment of the President and Vice-Chancellor, who is responsible for the administration of the University.

Members of the UBC Board of Governors are volunteers and serve the University without remuneration.

Board of Governors procedures are administered through the Board Secretariat in accordance with the Board of Governors Orientation Manual (PDF).

The bodies responsible for appointment and election of Governors strive to include the following core competencies in the collective composition of the Board:

      • operational or technical expertise relevant to the operation of the organization including:
        • strategic management and organizational change,
        • operations,
        • internal control and accounting,
        • technology,
        • communications,
        • public sector administration,
        • human resources,
        • labour relations, and
        • risk management;
      • financial expertise;
      • information technology expertise;
      • legal expertise;
      • property development expertise;
      • knowledge of government and the public sector environment;
      • knowledge of current and emerging issues affecting the organization and its industry or sector; and,
      • knowledge of the community served by the organization.

Governance Experience

While previous experience as a governor is not required, it is important that candidates for positions understand the roles and responsibilities of a member of a governing board, and have the necessary experience and demonstrated skills to enable them to contribute to board decision-making and oversight.